Upcoming Events

to overview

Concert Vocaal Ensemble Cantatrix

20:15 - € 15.00

Der Aa Church
Akerkhof 2
9711 JB Groningen


Bach and the Northerners

On Saturday, 20 May the Cantatrix Vocal Ensemble will perform in concert in the Aa Church. As part of its anniversary series Cantatrix presents one of the most beautiful programmes it has performed during the last twenty-five years: Bach and the Northerners

Motets by Bach
The motets by Johann Sebastiaan Bach are among the highlights of polyphonic music. They were composed between 1723 and 1729 for a variety of occasions and all vary in structure and style. What the motets all have in common in spite of their differences is that they are often performed during the Easter season. But not 'The Northerners'.  This concert includes the ‘The Northerners’  in its title for a reason: it highlights the unparalleled richness and creativity of  the choral music, composition, culture and sound of our Northern neighbours.

This programme is ‘musical proof’  that music is timeless. The programme is called ‘Bach and the Northerners’ because it juxtaposes old and new music, different languages and cultures while proving that music transcends these differences.

Vocaal Ensemble Cantatrix
In twenty years the Cantatrix Vocal Ensemble has evolved from a group of friends who sang together to a mature chamber choir, presenting a series of concerts annually at a semi-professional level. Under the baton of director Geert-Jan van Beijeren Bergen en Henegouwen the choir has earned acclaim both at home and abroad.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - Komm, Jesu, komm
Morten Lauridsen (1943- ) - O, magnum mysterium
Gustav Holst (1874-1934) - Psalm 86
Johann Michaël Bach (1642-1703) - Herr, ich warte auf dein Heil
Ola Gjeilo (1978- ) - Ubi caritas III
Johann Christoph Bach (1642-1703) - Ich lasse dich nicht
Peteris Vasks (1946- ) - Pater noster
Rudmer de Vries (1987- ) - Da pacem
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - Lobet den Herrn

Basso continuo: Vincent van Laar (organ), Maria Vahervuo (cello), Hendrik-Jan Wolfert (cello). String quartet: Cypresses Quartet and many more.

Admission: € 15.
Tickets available from the Cantatrix website or by phone: 06-51213471.


Share this

Subscribe to our newsletter