History

History

1594

When Spanish rule of the Northern Netherlands comes to an end, ownership of the properties belonging to monasteries transfers to the city of Groningen. This includes many acres of peat lands. The expanding city needs cheap fuel and digging enthusiastically gets underway.

1647

The Kielster Canal is built, a branch of the Winschoter Canal. Peat extraction creates employment opportunities for hundreds of labourers from all parts of the country.

1755

The population expands and the colony feels the need  for its own church. The township of Groningen commissions the building of a church for the amount of 5918 guilders and 3 stivers. The peat cutters are finally relieved of their  two hour Sunday walk to the neighbouring town of Hoogezand.

1763

The population continues to grow and eight years later the building is doubled in size, almost to the size  it is today. A noteworthy feature is that the church and the rectory share a roof. From a distance only the steeple distinguishes it from the surrounding farms. The rectory also boasts a stable: the rector was expected to be (partially) self-supporting

1870

The original stable is added to the rectory. The lovely English garden also dates back to the 19th century.

2001

The church is restored and finds a new use. Many parts of the church are still in their original state, including the pulpit and the pews.. 

2007

The Amshoff is managed by Jan Stams (chef de cuisine) and Marola Claessen (hostess). The church is rented out for all kinds of events, both corporate and private.

2014

Several times a year Bijzondere Locaties Groningen, in cooperation with the Stichting Oude Groninger Kerken and De Culturele Onderneming, organises interviews with popular writers. Previous guests were Bart Chabot, Renate Dorrestein, Naima El Bezaz, Peter Buwalda, Aaf Brandt Corstius and Jessica Durlacher, to name but a few.

 

Share this

Subscribe to our newsletter

    blgroningen

    Follow